Oct 21, 2015 - DEVELOPER EVANGELIST, AMAZON. @MikeFHines ... Android. Devs. iOS devs Amazon. Fire OS. 41%. 48%. 60%. %.
How to Reach New Players (and Monetize 100% of Them) MIKE HINES
DEVELOPER EVANGELIST, AMAZON @MikeFHines
mikehines45
[email protected] CASUAL CONNECT TEL AVIV 19 – 21 OCTOBER 2015
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Amazon Appstore
TODAY’S AGENDA Landscape of Monetization Options Getting Paid for Every User How Does That Work, Exactly Still more ways to get paid
% Developers above Poverty Line
60% 48% 41%
How do we get more Developers earning more revenue? An app must make more than $500 per month if it is to fund future app development and markeKng. $500 per month is the app poverty line.
Android Devs
iOS devs
Amazon Fire OS Source: Developer Economics Q3 2014 © VisionMobile, All Rights Reserved
Many moneKzaKon opKons but, Premium
In-‐App Purchase
Ads
There’s room for improvement • “The biggest problem with freemium app models is that 97% of consumers don’t convert, instead s=cking to the free features.”1 • Cost of $2.10 and $1.51 per download for iOS and Google Play respecKvely in the US oXen eclipses user lifeKme value (LTV)3 • Free apps a\ract more users that premium apps 1 WSJ h\p://www.wsj.com/arKcles/mobile-‐game-‐makers-‐try-‐to-‐catch-‐more-‐whales-‐who-‐pay-‐for-‐free-‐games-‐1431306115 3 Chartboost: h\ps://www.chartboost.com/insights/ 2015
Amazon offers developers
MORE WAYS TO EARN Service
Mechanism
Note
Ad Supported
Pay per Impression or Click
Get paid for showing ads in your app
Freemium
In App Purchasing
Get paid for selling digital goods consumed in your app
Paid (premium)
Pay to Download
Get paid for selling your app
Mobile Associates
Commission per Sale
Get paid for selling physical and digital goods from Amazon.com
Paid per Minute
Get paid for every minute by every user in your app
Royalty per Sale
Create and sell t-shirts with your branding
Underground (New!) (US, UK, DE, FR)
Merch by Amazon (New!)
REACHING NEW PLAYERS AND NEW PAYERS
Amazon Underground
Merch by Amazon
Developers waive fees on apps and In App Purchase items. Customers get really, truly free apps. Amazon pays developers for cumulative minutes customers spend in an Amazon Underground app.
A NEW SHOPPING APP DISTRIBUTING
ACTUALLY FREE APPS Turn 100% of your Android users into revenue-generating customers
AMAZON UNDERGROUND
HOW IT WORKS
• Customers download your app from the Amazon Underground shopping app • Total user minutes are multiplied by our payout ratio • Developer is paid by direct deposit
$0.002 for every user-‐minute $0.12 per hour per user
AMAZON UNDERGROUND
HOW WILL IT WORK FOR YOU? • Back-of-the-napkin • Back it out of ARPU
10K Users 150K Minutes 150K x $0.002 = $300
AMAZON UNDERGROUND
HOW WILL IT WORK FOR YOU? • Back-of-the-napkin • Back it out of ARPU
10K Users IAP Revenue = $300
You would need each player to play:
$300 / $0.002 = 150k minutes total 150K min. / 10K users = 15 min per user
AMAZON UNDERGROUND
HOW WILL IT WORK FOR YOU? • Back-of-the-napkin • Back it out of ARPU
VISION MOBILE
ARPU
All Freemium apps average $0.0674 ARPU per month.
VISION MOBILE
ARPU
Only apps making < $50K / month $0.0377 ARPU per month. $0.0377 / $0.002/min = 18.85 minutes per month
avg. session length
session length / active
(minutes)
5.7 7.4
(minutes)
×
2.6 3.2
=
15 24
MINUTES PER DAY
sessions/ /active active ##ofofsessions
Top 50 apps = 24 min/day 2014 Amazon survey of top 50 games vs the rest of us. Session length in minutes Sessions per day Total minutes per user per day Source: Amazon Appstore, March 2014
The rest of us = 15 min/day 2 day break-even with Vision Mobile ARPU numbers.
Revenue = Sessions X Minutes X Rate For 100% of your users Every minute they use your app
hMp://bit.ly/undergroundcalculator
AMAZON UNDERGROUND
WHO IS ONBOARD Zynga
• Looney Tunes Dash!
MobiSystems
• Office Suite 8 Pro
Halfbrick Studios • Fruit Ninja
Rovio
• Angry Birds Slingshot Stella
#ActuallyFree
#ActuallyFree “We’ve been thrilled with the performance of Jetpack Joyride and Fruit Ninja as part of the Amazon Underground program in the month since launch. Thus far we have
doubled the downloads and revenue from our apps in the Amazon
Appstore and most interesKngly, customers are engaging with our in-‐ app purchase content within our games at an extremely high rate. Since all in-‐app purchases are free in Amazon Underground, they can play the games in new and exciKng ways.” -‐ Shainiel Deo, CEO of Halkrick Studios.
Gelng Started
QualificaKons • Android • Premium or IAP in another store • WW Developers who release to: US, UK, Germany or France
developer.amazon.com/underground
So, the focus is Fun Useful ExciKng Scary Clever Unique … whatever got you into this business
But I sKll sell on other stores!
REACHING NEW PLAYERS AND NEW PAYERS
Amazon Underground #ActuallyFree apps and in-app purchases and developers are paid per minute
Merch by Amazon
Create a New Revenue Stream with Branded T-Shirts • • • • •
Your designs, your price *Within some reasonable limits An Amazon.com Product Page for each shirt Amazon handles transactions, fulfillment, returns, and paying you No out-of-pocket cost to you Earn a royalty for each t-shirt sold Merch.amazon.com
Free self-‐service tools
Create and upload your artwork using our templates.
Promote your t-‐shirt using our tools.
Analyze your sales and iterate for best moneKzaKon.
"We know how to make games really well, but retail and merchandising is not our core business. Working with Amazon really helped get us out there." — Bryan Davis, Big Blue Bubble creators of My Singing Monsters
merch.amazon.com
merch.amazon.com
merch.amazon.com
How Your Royalty is Calculated You set the price
You can
KEEP THE PROCEEDS “Many Free to Play devs classify their players as willing to pay or not willing to pay. What we've found is some folks who don't want to pay for digital goods are fine paying for a shirt. ” Bryan Mashinter Backflip Studios, creators of DragonVale
Help your players
CELEBRATE SUCCESS Finishing a Marathon is a big deal, and runners buy shirts to commemorate the event. BeaKng the Level 20 Boss in your game may also be a big deal. Offer your players a shirt to commemorate meaningful in-‐game achievements.
Help your fans
IDENTIFY WITH YOUR BRAND “We don’t have to worry about selling the t-‐shirts or holding any inventory. It’s a one stop shop allowing us to grow the brand outside of the game.” — Bryan Davis Big Blue Bubble, creators of My Singing Monsters
Help your fans
PROMOTE YOUR GAME Increase awareness and trigger conversaKons about your game in the real-‐world. Start today. For lots of good reasons. No risk. No reason to wait.
REACHING NEW PLAYERS AND NEW PAYERS
Amazon Underground #ActuallyFree apps and in-app purchases and developers are paid per minute
Merch by Amazon An on-demand service with no out-of-pocket cost
Amazon Underground • #ActuallyFree for customers • Devs are paid for ever minute of every customer • http://developer.amazon.com/underground
Merch by Amazon • • •
Start a new revenue stream Turn players into fans http://merch.amazon.com
CASUAL CONNECT TEL AVIV 19 – 21 OCTOBER 2015