Moving forward Equity in Health: Monitoring Social Determinants of ...

Dec 17, 2007 - Social Gradients and Child Health. In: Heggenhougen K, Quah S, eds. International. Encyclopedia of Public Health. San Diego CA, Academic.
3MB Sizes 0 Downloads 118 Views

© Ministry of Health and Social Policy of Spain 2010 NIPO: 840-10-073-5 All rights reserved. The designations employed and the presentation of the material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Ministry of Health and Social Policy concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. The published material is being distributed without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied. The responsibility for the interpretation and use of the material lies with the reader. Acknowledgements This publication was produced under the general direction of Ildefonso Hernández Aguado, General Director of Public Health and Foreign Health, Ministry of Health and Social Policy, Spain. A Technical Committee for the Spanish EU Presidency comprised of the following members designed the content lines, managed production, co-authored and reviewed text as necessary: Pilar Campos Esteban, Daniel Catalán Matamoros, Karoline Fernández de la Hoz, Theadora Koller, Begoña Merino Merino, Charles Price, Rosa Ramírez Fernández. Special contributions were made by Zaida Herrador Ortiz and María Santaolaya Cesteros. The Technical Committee was supported by the following staff of the Ministry: David Bernardo González, María del Carmen García Jiménez, Laura Moya Alonso, Carlos Risco Risco, María Isabel Torres López and Jorge Vázquez Pérez. Input to the production process, including for the review of drafts, was provided by the Advisory Committee for the Spanish EU Presidency priority “Innovation in Public Health: monitoring social determinants of health and reduction of inequities in health”. Appreciation is expressed to the members of this group who include: Pedro Alonso, Liam Donaldson, Ildefonso Hernández Aguado, Michael Hübel, Bjørn-Inge Larsen, Guillen López Casanovas, Johan Mackenbach, Michael Marmot, Vincent Navarro, Bosse Petersson, Pekka Puska, José Rodríguez y García Caro, Andrzej Rys, Margaret Whitehead and Erio Ziglio. The Ministry wishes to extend its sincere thanks to the coordinating- and co-authors involved in producing the contents of this report: Chapter I – Ildefonso Hernández Aguado; Chapter II – Eero, Lahtinen, Kimmo Leppo; Chapter III – Chris Brown, Peter Goldblatt, Ahmadreza Hosseinpoor, Jennifer Lee, Ritu Sadana; Chapter IV – Luis Rajmil, Barbara Starfield; Chapter V – Johannes Siegrist; Chapter VI – Anna Basten, Ana Rico, Roumyana Petrova-Benedict, Rosa Urbanos; Chapter VII – Pedro Alonso, Theadora Koller, Kumanan Ilango Rasanathan, Magda Roberts, Eugenio Villar. Please see Annex V for authors’ details. In addition, the Ministry would like to express gratitude to the persons who offered their time to peer review and/or serve as resource persons for one or more sections of the report. These people include but are not limited to: Mercedes Alfaro Latorre, Javiera Valdés, Isabelle Balot, Enis Barış, Martin Bobak, Bianca Bortot, Carme Borell, Ágnes Cser, Francois Decaillet, Michael Erhart, David Evans, José Manuel Fresno García, Sergio Galán, Juan Garay, Montserrat García Gómez, Manfred Huber, Ini Huijts, David Ingleby, Mike Kelly, Rüdiger Krech, Anton Kunst, Daniel La Parra Casado, Michael de Looper, Juan Carlos Mato Gómez, Antony Morgan, Clive Needle, Sergi Noguera, Canice Nolan, Inés Palanca Sánchez, Lucy Parker, Maria-José Peiro, Alena Petrakova, Ulrike Ravens-Sieberer, Mª Dolores Ruiz Bautista, María Sastre, Xenia Scheil-Adlung, Sarah Simpson, Sanjeev Sridharan, Marc Suhrcke, Denny Vågerö, David Walsh, Jacqueline Weekers, Isabel Yordi and Ana Zoni. The Ministry would also like to thank the editors/translators Paola González de Barreda and David John Evans. A draft of this document was meant to be discussed during the Spanish EU Presidency Experts Conference and Minister