upsc cse exams - Oliveboard

It is the 'Union Public Service Commission', India's Central Recruiting ... National Defence Academy Examination (NDA), etc. ... Indian Foreign Service (IFS).
311KB Sizes 0 Downloads 107 Views
UPSC CSE EXAMS IAS | IFS | IPS | IRS Explained Examination, Job Profile, Growth, Salary, Perks

What is UPSC? • It is the ‘Union Public Service Commission’, India’s Central Recruiting Agency • Responsible for Appointments and Examinations for All India Services • Established in 1926 • Responsible for conducting many exams like: ❖ Civil Services Examination (CSE) ❖ Engineering Services Examination (ESE) ❖ Combined Medical Services Examination (CMSE) ❖ Combined Defence Services Examination (CDSE) ❖ National Defence Academy Examination (NDA), etc.

What is Civil Services Examination(CSE)? • Examination for recruitment to various Civil Services of the Government Of India, mainly:

- Indian Administrative Service (IAS) - Indian Foreign Service (IFS) - Indian Police Service (IPS) The UPSC has announced approximately 782 vacancies for the year 2018

Registration for the Exam • Registration can be done online on the UPSC website: • Application Fees: - Rs. 100 (Female/SC/ST/PWD exempted) - Rs. 200 (Further fee, for candidates qualified for Main Exam)

Eligibility • Nationality: - For the IAS and IPS, the candidate must be a citizen of India - For other services: • A citizen of India • A citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan • A person of Indian origin migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India

• Age: - For General category, 21-32 years - For Other Backward Castes (OBC) the upper age limit is 35 - For Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST), the limit is 37 years.

Eligibility • Education: Candidates must have a minimum of the following educational qualifications: - A degree from a Central, State or a Deemed university - A degree received through correspondence or distance education - A degree from an open university - A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above • Number of Attempts: - The number of times a candidate may attempt the exam is limited as follows: - General category candidates = 6 - OBC category candidates = 9 - SC/ST candidates = unlimited attempts till 37 years of age Appearing to attempt one of the papers in the preliminary examination is counted as an attempt, including disqualification/ cancellation of candidature. However, applying to sit the exam but failing to attend is not counted as an attempt

Examination Process The examination consists of the following three stages: • Stage I: Preliminary examination - A qualifying test in Feb-March and held in June-July each year. Results are published in mid-August. • Stage II: Main examination - Held around September-October every year. • Stage III: Personality Test (interview) – generally held in March each year. Final results are usually announced in May The training program for the selected candidates commences the following September.

Preliminary Exam Syllabus & Pattern • Paper 1: - Current events: national and international - History of India, Indian National Movement

• Paper 2:

- Comprehension

- Indian and World Geography-Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World

- Interpersonal skills including communication skills

- Indian Polity and Governance-Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.

- Decision making and problem solving

- Economic and Social Development-Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.

- Basic numeracy (Class X level)

- Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and climate change

- Logical reasoning and analytical ability

- General mental ability - Data interpretation (Class X level)

- General Science



Question Type